About the Foundation

The Credit Union Foundation is an active organisation dedicated to improving the lives of the people of the UK through supporting the development and operation of strong credit unions and promoting awareness of them among the general public.

The Credit Union Foundation primarily delivers on this ambition through:

  • Developing and providing educational initiatives to individuals working or volunteering in credit unions to improve their ability to serve their communities even better
  • Providing grants and support directly to credit unions to allow them to extend the reach of their services
  • Providing opportunities for individuals working or volunteering in credit unions to access learning opportunities through other credit union sectors

The Credit Union Foundation serves the entire credit union sector and its members and potential members and is governed by a Board of Trustees chaired by Lord Roy Kennedy of Southwark.

Our Objects

The Objects of the Foundation are

(a) To advance education amongst the public in matters pertaining to credit unions and their potential in relieving poverty and need, and to provide education and training in the knowledge and skills pertinent to the establishment and management of credit unions;

(b) To relieve poverty and need amongst communities in the United Kingdom and throughout the World which are in need of such relief, by advising needy persons within those communities how to establish and manage credit unions.

(c) To relieve poverty by providing grants, items, support and other services to credit unions to allow them to extend their services to individuals in need and/or charities, or other organisations working to prevent or relieve poverty.

As a registered charity, The Credit Union Foundation’s rules allow it to carry out a different but complementary role to that of ABCUL. The Foundation works with all credit unions, not just those which are members of ABCUL.

The Memorandum of Association of the Foundation can be downloaded from the bottom of this page.

Current Trustees

  • Lord Roy Kennedy (Chair)
  • Karen Bennett
  • Richard Munro
  • David Martin
  • Alison Pask
  • Dawn Vear
Credit Union Foundation Memorandum of Understanding